about us

In the early 80’s the Sikh’s of Mission realized the need of a Sikh Temple in their own home town after years of support to other Temples and Organizations throughout the Fraser Valley. Searching for an appropriate site was some what difficult, the Society however overcame all hurdles they were faced with and made a purchase of a piece of property on Lougheed Hwy with the support of the Sikh Community.

A special chapter in the history of Mission BC was written for the Sikhs on Dec 4th/ 1988 which involved the ground breaking ceremony featuring Panj Piyare ( the five beloved ones ) bearing their swords and dressed in traditional orange garbs. At that moment current Mission Mayor Sophie Weremchuk told the crowd that the construction of the Temple was a milestone for the community. Construction began shortly there after led by Erwin S Braich along with Sikh Temple project manager Mike Meeker.

Mission’s new Sikh Temple opened Saturday November 18th 1989 with more than 1500 people in attendance on this special occasion. The ceremonies began with the Mission Legion Pipe Band leading a procession of the Panj Piyare ( the five beloved ones ), the Vancouver Khalsa School Band and a group of Sikhs carrying the sacred scriptures into the building. The Temple was dedicated with blessings from highly-regarded priest Sant Baba Meehan Singh, the high priest of Nanaksar Sikh Temple in Richmond. The official flag raising was done complete with fireworks. Respected Sikh priest and historian Giani Manni Singh also helped during the temple opening which featured a two-hour service of prayers and hymn singing.

Mission Sikh Temple’s founding members that are not here with us today include, Major S Rai, Jasmer S Braich, Jim S Braich, Kehar S Cheema.

The Society would also like to note a few founding members that have moved from Mission BC, however at that time played key roles during the construction collecting donations and contributing there valuable time and effort: Karam S Mann, Jagtar S Sungha, Gurmail S Sidhu, Sohan S Sidhu, Mukhtiar S Dhindsa.